Find and Remove Permissions: If you are the one who is using the internet for a while, chances are that you’ve used your Google account to sign in to an app or service. There are the latest apps that replace the old ones.
If you wish to stay protected from the next biggest data violation, you must revisit your Google account permissions and wipe it up every once in a while. Fortunately for you, Google offers the easiest way to manage your third-party app permissions.
What kind of permissions can be given
Apps and services that you signed in to over the years have different access to your Google account data. It includes access to any of the services offered by Google like Google Drive, Gmail, Contacts, Hangouts, Calendar, and Photos. You can also view the apps and services that are accessing your Google account by visiting the Google Account Permissions page.
Third-party apps with account access
If your account is using private information from one of the services listed below, you must reconsider managing this access for your security.
- Google Drive: Allow access to documents you shared with other people, their contact information
- Calendar: Enable access to your daily routine and appointments.
- Gmail: Access to your emails, confidential correspondence, contacts name, and attachment.
- Contacts: Access to names, addresses, phone numbers and other contact information of people you may know.
- Photos: Grant access to your photos uploaded on Google Photos having pictures of your family, and geotags of pictures.
Sites that you signed in using your Google Account
Some services, sites, or apps access your basic profile information. Once you signed into an app or site using your Google account, the service can only have access to basic info, including your name, email address, and profile picture. This information helps the site register you to sign in to their app/site instead of creating a new account with a password.
These are Google’s suite of apps that you use on one or more devices. Occasionally, these apps have full access to your Google account and since they are made by Google, the data can be allowed access to. If you’re using Google Chrome on macOS, chances are that Chrome has been given full access to your Google account which is fine. The Mountain View company, however, recommend that you revoke access to Google apps that you no longer use.
Is it okay to give permissions
Some information in your Google account might be a little too sensitive to be shared with anyone. So when enabling an app or service access to your account, you should be sure of what you’re willing to share. Google lets you give third-party sites and apps access to different parts of your account.
Services that can view your basic profile information
In most cases, the sites and apps that you log in to using your Google account only have access to your basic profile information. This information includes your name, email address, and profile picture. They are key to register and create a new account for a service to make you identifiable among other users.
You can also trust the apps listed to use Google sign-in as they do not utilize your data nor have access to confidential ones. Your Google account is just a key to opening the site’s account which lets you avoid the site’s registration process.
Apps that can see ‘some’ of your data from your Google account
Besides seeing your basic info, some sites and apps can ask for access to other information that’s available in your account. This can be anything ranging from your contacts and YouTube playlists to Photos, Calendar, and more. It is very important to reconsider what information you like to share with these apps. If you consider that an app shouldn’t be accessing your Calendar and Photos, then you must allow access to the app through your Google account settings.
Apps that can edit, upload, and create data in your Google Account
Having access to your basic and the ability to view data, some apps ask for permission to read and write data onto your account. These apps will be able to edit, create and upload content to your account. According to Google if given the right permissions, a film editing app may be able to edit your video and post it on YouTube a travel app may be able to create an event in your Google calendar.
How can your data be misused
- Service used data in ways that are not obvious and can be shared with others you might not have wanted to.
- Your data can be accessed by unauthorized people if the service you shared your data has been hacked. If the data is being accessed by servers not that of Google’s, your data might not be as secure as it might be with Google.
- Your data is never erased after allowing access: Third-party apps that access to your Google Account can copy and save your data on their servers. It’s difficult to delete the account you created on the app even if you revoke access to the app.
- You don’t know if an app or service changes its policies: Once you enable the app to access parts of your account information, you will not listen from them even if they’ve changed their policies and practices unless they want access to more information.
- Your data can also be access by other humans: When you plan to share your account info to a service, it’s not just the servers that view and check your information but also individuals working for the organization. They are real humans who allow accessing your account information, including your emails and contacts.
Should you revoke them or leave it be
Since your account may contain confidential information and it’s important to test if you want an app to have access to a given set of data. If you want you gave account access to a site that you no longer trust, your next move is to wipe its access to your Google Account.
While allowing access doesn’t necessarily mean that your data will be deleted. It will make sure that the app or service won’t have permission to read or edit your account information in the future. You can select to revoke permissions if you think an app/service is requesting more information than it should be.
For example, if you’ve logged into a travel app using your Google account, then the app asks for access to your Google Calendar since it will be making reservations and appointments and reservations then add it to your calendar. If the same app asks for access to your photos, that’s when you remove access to the app.
How to find and remove permissions from your Google account
If you’ve finally planned to revoke permissions to the apps that you don’t want to share data with. Then you can remove its access to your Google Account.
Here’s how to find and remove permissions:
Firstly, Open the Google app on your Android phone.
Click on the More button at the bottom right.
Press the down arrow next to your account name.
Click on Manage your Google Account.
Click on the Get Started button.
Slide through the tabs at the top and choose the Security tab.
Under the ‘Third-party apps with account access‘, click on Manage third-party access.
Review your permissions and check whether a service wants access to specific info. When you reach on the third-party permissions page, you’ll view three lists with different levels of access i.e
- Third-party apps with account access
- Signing in with Google
- Google apps
Use your logic to translate whether an app allows permission or two.
If you like to revoke permissions, click on a service listed on the page.
Click on Remove Access.
When prompted for confirmation, click OK.
The app or website will no longer be able to access your account information in the future. It means the service will not be able to read, write, edit, create, or delete content on your account.
Here in this guide, you can Find and remove permissions. For further queries and questions let us know in the comment section below. Drop a comment if you want to share anything to find and remove permissions.
Till then! Keep Smiling 🙂